Photography – Macro Water Droplets Series No 1

February 11, 2009 at 1:56 pm 19 comments

Droplet

_mg_5332

Here is the first shot from our incredible macro water droplet shoot.

Taken with various coloured backgrounds and a healthy dose of timing – as you can see, these shots really are worth the wait.

Stats

f/stop: 5

Shutter speed: 1/200

ISO: 100

Macro Focal length: 238mm

What do you think? Number 2 coming shortly….

Take a look at more photography from Green i Design and our friends – want to get involved yourself? contact us

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Entry filed under: Photography, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

When will Gran Turismo 5 finally arrive???? Photography – Macro Water Droplets Series No. 2

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pictures of Brazil  |  February 11, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I do not like to shoot, but to admire. Nice

    Reply
  • 2. My Free Time  |  February 11, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Nice shot. I’ve not tried the water droplets before, but I think it’s time to try. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
  • 3. dragonmage06  |  February 11, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    That…is famazing.

    Reply
  • 4. Melisa  |  February 11, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I’m dropping by to check from your invitation/comment on my post.

    Really, this is an amazing shot. I wonder if the color is an original or just maybe a photoshop editing? I also love taking macro shots of water droplets.

    Reply
    • 5. greenidesign  |  February 11, 2009 at 5:58 pm

      Hi Melisa, thanks for dropping by and for your comment.

      The shot was taken in RAW and had no photoshop editing other than RAW processing. Do you have experience with RAW?

      The colours were achieved through using different coloured backdrops and types of card, you just have to get creative!

      Reply
  • 6. thousandimages  |  February 11, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    I like the light…. it’s adorable!

    Reply
  • 7. A.j.  |  February 11, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    that is amazing! I am new to photography and trying to figure it all out-
    I am impressed!

    Reply
  • 8. craigphoto  |  February 11, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Beautiful abstract…looks like a work of art.

    Reply
  • […] from the Water Macro Droplets Series Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Bird Photography – MoorhensLiquid Art & […]

    Reply
  • 10. missbphotography  |  February 11, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Those specific photos weren’t taken in RAW, just JPEG.

    I love this water droplet!! I’m hoping to learn to do amazing things like this eventually!!
    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  • 11. axinia  |  February 11, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    wow…I only once tried to capture water and know it is very difficilt…amazing work!

    Reply
  • 12. deviantcode  |  February 11, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    This is a response to your comment on my blog: I am just a beginner, so I cannot have an authorized opinion yet, but I read a lot of photography books in my almost inexistent spare time ( I’m also employed and work on a PhD thesis in Artificial Intelligence). Personally, I think this macro is an excelent piece of art, I really like it. I’d like to be a contributor here.

    Reply
  • 13. dragonspeed  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Lovely.

    I’m surprised that you get such good freezing on your drop at 1/200. I would have intuitively thought that you need 1/1000 or better.

    Reply
    • 14. greenidesign  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:55 pm

      1/200 was used in conjunction with a flash which made it fast enough – which is in turn the fastest the flash will sync… 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Melisa  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:17 am

    So, it was taken in RAW. I am new to photography and it’s a delight to learn from others like you. Thanks for this amazing example.

    By the way, what camera did you use?

    Reply
    • 16. greenidesign  |  February 12, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      A simple 400D Canon took this shot 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. niekmilder  |  February 12, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    thanks for the comment green, btw keep your eyes out for the 19th. Implementing the droplet thing in a liquor photo :).

    Reply
    • 18. greenidesign  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:00 pm

      Good work – will certainly keep an eye out. Well done you.

      Reply
  • 19. Ben Pajuczok  |  February 12, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Great capture well worth the time and effort I think the water droplets is something I must try. thanks for the Inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Green i Design on Flickr


